15
Apr
10

Exsqueeze me


Shopping aisle, busy bustle day
crowded scene, jostling
peripheral vision catches eye at play
too self assuredly stepping
by
you know, you slipped past behind me
just a little too close for comfort
conspiratorially just between I and see
fingers slide lightly as you depart

Now I’m sitting in the living room
at a friends party discussing
deepest political issue, and newspaper doom
with the presence overly leaning
in
a half drunken new boyfriend
with less drunk girlfriend glare
chancing an arm, then a hand
and a sudden urge to turn and dare

Go on:
what bodily extremity
will you stare
at, next?
bluntly, lustily?
in a less than deftly
handled
manoeuvre

manhandle
panhandle

strangle
the urge
to say:

I’m not yours
to have
nor hold
nor fondle
nor eyeball
nor friendly cuddle

You wanna be friendly?
Talk to me.


2 Responses to “Exsqueeze me”


  1. 1 Winjer
    17 April, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    oooh, very nice. really enjoyed reading this one.

  2. 18 April, 2010 at 1:57 am

    great opening stanza
    very good work your doing here


Leave a comment